Connect with us


Poetry Contest Winners Announced

Published on

The James and Christian LaRoche Memorial Poetry Contest recently announced the winners of the 2019 contest.


Chance Freytag of Destin won first place and a cash prize of $100 for his poem “loneliness is former United States President Richard Nixon.” Mr. Freytag’s poem will be published in the 2019 edition of Northwest Florida State College’s annual journal of art and literature, Blackwater Review. The poem will be identified in the publication as the contest winner.


Alizabeth Turner-Ward of Niceville placed second with her poem “Remember You Are Stardust.” Ms. Turner-Ward will be awarded a cash prize of $50.


Courtney Swanson of Shalimar took third place with her poem “How to Be a Child” and will receive a cash prize of $25.


The winners will be recognized Thursday, April 18, at 5 PM during the Student Awards & Honors Ceremony in the Raider Café on the NWF State College’s Niceville campus.


For 33 years the LaRoche name has been associated with poetry at NWF. In 1986, Christian LaRoche instituted the James N. LaRoche Memorial Poetry Contest to honor her late husband, who was a poet and an instructor at the college from 1968 to 1983.


The name was changed after the death of Christian LaRoche, when the LaRoches’ son, Frederic, changed the name to the James and Christian LaRoche Memorial Poetry Contest in honor of both of his parents and their commitment to the writing arts.


The James and Christian LaRoche Memorial Poetry Contest is an annual contest open to all NWF undergraduates.

Spread the love
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Notify of