Connect with us

Community News

NWF State College Part 2 – Collegiate High Schoolers Dominate at Math Bowl

Published on

From left—math geniuses Matthew Nguyen, Teertho Bhattacharya, Eric Fowler, and Collin McGovern.

High school teams from all across northwest Florida competed in the 32nd annual Math Bowl at Northwest Florida State College on Friday, March 8. This year’s event was made possible through a partnership with Team Eglin and the Munitions Directorate.


“It is a great privilege to continue to host our annual Math Bowl,” said Dr. Devin Stephenson, NWF State College president. “Through this unique event, some of the brightest young minds within the northwest Florida region can observe firsthand how our outstanding personnel make NWF State College a truly student-focused institution.”


After a daylong competition consisting of written exams and ciphering matches, an awards ceremony was held for the event’s team and individual winners.



Class X. South Walton (first), Chipley (second), Seacoast (third).


Class Y. Collegiate High School at NWF State College (first), Gulf Breeze (second), Pensacola Catholic (third).


Class Z. Rickards (first), Lincoln (second), Niceville (third).



Class X. Mark Fisher, South Walton (first); Leo Pan, Chipley (second); Isabella Sniadecki, South Walton (third).


Class Y. Teertho Bhattacharya, Collegiate High (first); Eric Fowler, Collegiate High (second); Yen Nguyen, Pensacola Catholic (third).


Class Z. Dylan Epstein-Gross, Rickards (first); Rayyan Darji, Rickards (second); Rohan Davidi, Rickards (third).


In addition to trophies for individual and team winners, the highest scoring student from each class and school were also given $10 gift cards from assorted restaurants. Door prizes were also handed out during the event thanks to generous sponsor donations.


Spread the love
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Notify of